Theater an der Wien

The Theater an der Wien is a traditional theatre in the 6th district of Vienna, which was inaugurated in 1801 by the librettist of Mozart's "Magic Flute", Emanuel Schikaneder. Today, only parts of the original building, which was built in Empire style, have been preserved. The so-called “Papageno-Gate” shows the builder as Papageno and his children as the "Three boys" in Mozart’s “Magic Flute”.

History of the theatre – Numerous world premieres shape the early years

In the early years, none other than Ludwig van Beethoven lived in the building, which is why a memorial room in honor of the composer was built on the ground floor. During his stay he worked as a conductor and wrote his successful opera composition "Fidelio", whose first version premiered in 1805 at the Theater an der Wien (under the original title "Leonore").

In addition to Beethoven's opera, the Theater an der Wien experienced numerous other historical world premieres- including Beethoven's "Eroica" and many of his orchestral pieces, works by Grillparzer, Raimund and Nestroy.

Musicals & the Vienna Festival ensure continued success

Unlike the bombed Vienna State Opera, the theatre building remained undamaged during the Second World War and therefore was used as temporary quarters for the State Opera Ensemble in subsequent years. In 1960, the city government acquired the theatre to use it as a festival hall for the annual “Vienna Festival”, as well as for various guest appearances. In the 90’s, Austrian premieres of many musicals- including "Elizabeth" and "Cats"- enjoyed unbroken success at the theatre.

Realignment of the program in the “Year of Mozart” 2006

By 2006 and on the occasion of the “Year of Mozart”, the directors of the theatre decided to break with the previous line in terms of the program and turned the theatre primarily to a venue for operas. Since then it carries the additional name “The new opera house”, being the third Viennese opera house after the State Opera and the Volksoper.

There are no products matching the selection.

Theater an der Wien

Das Theater an der Wien ist ein traditionsreiches Theater im 6. Wiener Gemeindebezirk, das im Jahre 1801 von Emanuel Schikaneder- seines Zeichens Textdichter von Mozarts „Die Zauberflöte“- eröffnet wurde. Heute ist der im Empirestil errichtete Bau nur noch auf der Seite der Millöckergasse original erhalten, wo das Papagenotor den Erbauer als Papageno mit seinen Kindern als „Drei Knaben“ in der Zauberflöte zeigt.

Geschichte des Hauses – Zahlreiche Uraufführungen prägen die Anfangsjahre

In den Anfangsjahren wohnte niemand Geringerer als Ludwig van Beethoven in dem Gebäude, woran heute ein im Erdgeschoss errichtetes Gedenkzimmer erinnert. Während seines Aufenthalts war er hier als Kapellmeister tätig und schrieb seine erfolgreiche Opernkomposition „Fidelio“, deren Erstfassung 1805 auch im Theater an der Wien uraufgeführt wurde (unter dem ursprünglichen Titel „Leonore“).

Neben Beethovens Befreiungsoper erlebte das Theater an der Wien zahlreiche weitere historische Uraufführungen- darunter Beethovens „Eroica“, sowie viele seiner Orchesterstücke, Werke von Grillparzer, Raimund und Nestroy.

Musicals & Wiener Festwochen sorgen für ungebrochenen Erfolg

Den Zweiten Weltkrieg überstand das Haus im Gegensatz zur zerbombten Wiener Staatsoper unbeschädigt und diente deshalb in den Folgejahren als Ausweichquartier für das Staatsopern-Ensemble. 1960 erwarb die Stadt Wien das Theater, um es in den Folgejahren als Festspielhaus für die jährlich stattfindenden Wiener Festwochen, sowie für diverse Gastspiele zu nutzen. In den 90er-Jahren sorgten insbesondere österreichische Erstaufführungen diverser Musicals- darunter „Elisabeth“ und „Cats“- für einen lange ungebrochenen Erfolg des Theaterhauses.

Neuausrichtung des Spielplans im Mozartjahr 2006

Mit dem Mozartjahr 2006 wurde hinsichtlich des Programms mit der bisherigen Linie gebrochen und das Theater vorwiegend zu einer Spielstätte für Opern. Seitdem trägt es als drittes Wiener Opernhaus neben Staatsoper und Volksoper den Beinahmen „Das neue Opernhaus“.

Es stehen keine Artikel entsprechend der Auswahl bereit.